Executive Committee

Elections to the ISA Executive Committee for the period Fall 2018 - Summer 2022

The Nominating Committees for the Research Council and for the Council of National Associations are pleased to announce a list of nominees for ISA officers’ election which will take place during the XIX World Congress of Sociology in July 2018 in Toronto, Canada.

Below is a list of all nominees (in alphabetical order). Their abbreviated biographical notes and, in the case of candidates for President and Vice-Presidents, their statement on priorities if elected to a post, can be found in the attached document.

Nominees for President

Sari HANAFI, Lebanon
Sujata PATEL, India

Nominees for Vice-President of Research Council

Christiana CONSTANTOPOULOU, Greece
Manisha DESAI, USA
Geoffrey PLEYERS, Belgium

Nominees for Vice-President of National Associations

Mikhail F. CHERNYSH, Russia
Filomin C. GUTIERREZ, Philippines

Nominees for Vice-President of Publications

Fabio GIGLIETTO, Italy
Eloísa MARTÍN, Brazil

Nominees for Vice-President of Finance and Membership

Habibul Haque KHONDKER, United Arab Emirates
Sawako SHIRAHASE, Japan

Nominees for the Executive Committee

A. Elections by the Council of National Associations

Milda ALIŠAUSKIENE, Lithuania
Roberto BRICEÑO-LEÓN, Venezuela
Chih-Jou Jay CHEN, Taiwan
Grace KHUNOU, South Africa
Olga KUTSENKO, Ukraine
João Teixeira LOPES, Portugal
Rima MAJED, Lebanon
Elina OINAS, Finland
Laura OSO CASAS, Spain
Alicia Itatí PALERMO, Argentina
Borut RONCEVIC, Slovenia
Mounir SAIDANI, Tunisia
Ayse SAKTANBER, Turkey
Celi SCALON, Brazil
Leke SOKOLI, Albania
Tina UYS, South Africa
Siniša ZRINŠCAK, Croatia

B. Elections by the Research Council

Arturo ALVARADO, Mexico
Nadia ASHEULOVA,  Russia
Tova  BENSKI, Israel
Eva BUCHINGER, Austria
Nilay CABUK KAYA, Turkey
Mariolina GRAZIOSI, Italy
Koichi HASEGAWA,  Japan
Hiroshi ISHIDA, Japan
Guillermina JASSO, USA
Jaime JIMENEZ, Mexico
Allison LOCONTO, France
Susan MCDANIEL, Canada
Rhoda REDDOCK, Trinidad & Tobago
Georgina TSOLIDIS, Australia
Ming-Chang TSAI, Taiwan

Research Council Nominating Committee

  • Patricia ALMAGUER, RC51 Sociocybernetics, Mexico, Chair
  • Amado ALARCÓN, RC25 Language and Society, Spain
  • Paulo MENEZES, RC37 Sociology of Arts, Brazil
  • Josephine BEOKU-BETTS, RC32 Women in Society, USA
  • Vessela MISHEVA, RC36 Alienation Theory and Research, Sweden

National Associations Nominating Committee

  • Ligia FERRO, Portuguese Sociological Association  
  • Jasminka LAZNJAK, Croatian Sociological Association 
  • Rima SABBAN, United Arab Emirates Zayed University, Chair
  • Aylin TOPAL, Turkish Social Science Association  
  • Elena ZDRAVOMYSLOVA, Russian Sociological Society

We use own or third-party cookies to improve your user experience. If you allow the installation of cookies or continue to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies..

Read more