Call for Nominations for the 2023 Hans L. Zetterberg Prize in Sociology

Uppsala University invites you to nominate one or several candidates for the Hans L. Zetterberg Prize in Sociology to be awarded to a younger researcher, who with his/her scientific work, preferably through fruitful combination of theory and practice, has moved the research front forward.

The prize is for a younger researcher (40 years or less the year the prize is awarded), who through published work – and preferably work that has undergone the anonymous peer-review process - has reached an acknowledged position within the discipline of sociology but who is not at the end of his/her research career. The Hans L. Zetterberg Prize - the first for Sociology at Uppsala University - is awarded yearly and considered international. The prize awards the sum of SEK 100 000 (9, 054 EUR or 9, 679 US in today's rate) made possible by a donation from the Zetterberg family.

Hans L Zetterberg (1927-2014), was a Swedish-born sociologist, who was scholarly active in the United States and Sweden, first in sociology, and later on in what could be deemed to be the social sciences. He taught sociology at Columbia University in The City of New York campus, and at Ohio State University, where he was Chairman of the Sociology Department. He was also a publisher of scholarly books (Bedminster Press, among other things, Max Weber's *Economy and Society*), and a long-time pollster and market researcher. Zetterberg was also a past president of the World Association for Public Opinion Research, and a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences. He published *On Theory and Verification* already in 1954 and when he died, he was engaged on a major theoretical work entitled *The Many-Splendored Society*. His work is archived at www.zetterberg.org.

Below is a list of previous awardees with shortened justifications for the prize they received:

- Adel Daoud received the prize in 2022 for, among others, his innovative contributions to social
 science research on classical social issues such as child poverty, ill-health and justice, for making
 theoretical contributions that have practical implications for some of the most pressing global
 challenges that we are facing today, and for the use of methodologically sophisticated analyses
 that have pushed the empirical research frontier forward.
- Anders Sundell received the prize in 2021 for, among others, augmenting the field of political
 sociology by approaching it from a broad social science perspective, contributing to several
 fields, including election studies, succession order, the study of fundamental norms and values,
 and the relationship between informally grown norms and formal systems of rules deserves
 attention, and actively participating in the public conversation in a true enlightenment spirit.
- Lisa Lindén was awarded the prize in 2020 for, among others, analyzing the socio-political
 dimensions of vaccinations, expanding on this to provide better understanding for how
 resistance to existing public campaigns forms and is maintained online, and contributing to our
 understanding how groups form ideas that are critical of, or which even stand in direct
 opposition to, scientifically based knowledge.
- Joscha Legewie was the awardee for 2019 due to his innovative studies within classic and central fields in sociology, including, race, education, and criminology, which have shown that we can gain new insights about social processes by posing novel research questions, and combining theory and empirical material in a creative way.

- **Shamus Khan** was awarded the prize in 2018 for his outstanding contributions to the study of US elites, which refers to classic sociology as well as contributes to the reinvigoration of research on stratification and inequality.
- Delia Baldassari was the first recipient of the Hans L. Zetterberg Prize in Sociology (2017), which
 was awarded to her for, among others, her outstanding contributions to political sociology, the
 fact that she has used several different methods to improve knowledge about voting behavior,
 networks, social capital and opinions, and for contributions that show how social action and
 individuals' contributions to collective action depend on their structural positions in networks.

The nomination letter for the 2023 call for the Hans L. Zetterberg's Prize in Sociology should be short and concise, and include the full CV. of the person being nominated. Contact information for the nominee should also be included.

Deadline for submitting nominations is **May 21 2023**. Please send the nomination to the Faculty of Social Sciences of Uppsala University, who is responsible for handling them, and awarding the prize: samfak@samfak.uu.se