

Call for Nominations

The European Peter H. Rossi Award for Scientific or Practice Contributions to Causal Research and Evaluation in Europe

The University of Maryland is pleased to announce this Call for Nominations for the recently institutionalized European Peter H. Rossi Award, to be awarded biennially beginning in 2020. The award recognizes scientific or practice contributions to causal research and evaluation in support of the advancement of public policy in Europe or elsewhere.

About the Peter H. Rossi Award

The Peter H. Rossi Award honors the lifetime achievements of Peter Rossi by recognizing important contributions to the theory or practice of program evaluation. The award can be for a lifetime contribution or for a specific project or publication.

Since 2005, the Rossi Award has been awarded ten times to academics and practitioners across the United States:

- 2018: Mark W. Lipsey, Vanderbilt University
- 2016: Alice Rivlin, Rudolph Penner, and Robert Reischauer, Congressional Budget Office
- 2014: Larry L. Orr, Johns Hopkins University
- 2012: **Thomas D. Cook**, Northwestern University
- 2010: Howard S. Bloom, MDRC
- 2009: Rebecca A. Maynard, University of Pennsylvania
- 2008: Judith M. Gueron, MDRC
- 2007: Grover J. (Russ) Whitehurst, Institute of Education Sciences
- 2006: **Robinson G. Hollister**, Swarthmore College
- 2005: **Frederick Mosteller**, Harvard University

See http://www.welfareacademy.org/rossi/#recipients for more information about each awardee, including award announcements and acceptance remarks.

The European Rossi Award

In 2017, the Peter H. Rossi Award Committee announced a special award to Professor Alberto Martini in recognition of his leadership in encouraging the highest standards of causal inference research, both in his home country of Italy and in Europe generally. (See http://www.insp.umd.edu/albertomartini.html for more information.)

On the basis of the recommendations of the Rossi Award Committee and the experience with the award to Professor Martini, we have decided to introduce a separate award oriented toward European scholars and practitioners. As stated above, the award recognizes scientific or practice contributions to causal research and evaluation in support of the advancement of public policy in Europe or elsewhere.

The research or evaluation can concern a program, legislation, or administrative or regulatory policy operating in Europe or elsewhere.

Like the non-European award, this award can be for a lifetime contribution or for a specific project or publication.

The award will be presented at the Fourteenth European Evaluation Society Biennial Conference, to be held 21–25 September 2020 in Copenhagen, Denmark. The awardee receives a €1,000 cash prize and €500 toward the cost of attendance.

Award Committee

All nominations will be reviewed by the Award Committee. The members are:

Christoph Badelt, director, Austrian Institute of Economic Research (WIFO); Bastiaan de Laat, senior evaluator, In-Depth Evaluation Unit, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD); president, European Evaluation Society;

Veronica Gaffey, chair, Regulatory Scrutiny Board, European Commission; Eric Hanushek, senior fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford University; Emmanuel Jimenez, executive director, International Initiative on Impact Evaluation (3ie):

Frans Leeuw, professor, University of Maastricht;
Alberto Martini, professor, Università del Piemonte Orientale;
Rebecca Maynard, University Trustee Chair professor, University of Pennsylvania; and Howard White, CEO, Campbell Collaboration.

Letters of Nomination

Nominations may be made by any individual or organization, and, as stated above, may be based either on a recent paper or publication or an entire body of work. (Individuals may nominate their own work.) The Award Committee reserves the right to, from time to time, establish time limits for what may be considered. When appropriate, joint awards will be made for coauthored works or joint products.

The paper, publication, or body of work may involve any aspect of planning, conducting, or analyzing evaluations of programs or policies and may be directed to lay or professional audiences. The work should reflect the importance of precision and objectivity in setting the evaluation framework, design, execution, and reporting, as well as the value of evidence-based presentation or translation for varied audiences. Illustrative examples include works on the state of evaluation or knowledge in a particular substantive field, new approaches to evaluation, and evaluation and its role in the political decision making process.

The letter of nomination (with the nominee's current address, email address, and phone number) should detail the contributions made by the work to the field of evaluation and should include the paper or relevant parts of the body of work.

Nominations should be sent via e-mail to:

Professor Douglas J. Besharov School of Public Policy University of Maryland besharov@umd.edu

Deadline for Nominations

All nominating materials for this Call must be received by 3 February 2020 at 11:59 p.m. Brussels time (UTC + 2).

25 September 2019