Research Committees

The Ivan Varga Prize for New Generation Scholars

This award recognizes an outstanding new paper by a scholar who is at most four years beyond the Ph.D.  It is named for our late Honorary President, Ivan Varga, who was well-known for supporting scholars just entering the profession.  The Ivan Varga Prize was established in 2017 with a gift from a donor who wishes to remain anonymous.  A grant from Springer Publishing augmented it. Currently, the Varga Prize is financed with RC22 funds.
The recipient is expected to present the paper at the World Congress. The Research Committee will assist the recipient in attending. The amount and parameters of this aid will be as generous as possible.

Ivan Varga Prize Winners

2018 - Rafael Cazarín
2023 - Ruth Vida Amwe