ISA Human Rights Committee

Established in 2013 by the ISA Executive Committee.

Statements in support of sociologists who suffered the violation of human rights:

ISA endorses the Advocacy Letter to ratify International Labour Organization (ILO) Convention 190 September 1, 2020
ISA endorsement of Ghanian Associations July 2020
ISA statement against institutionalized racism June 2020
ISA stands against USA's economic sanctions against Iran, Venezuela and Cuba  April 2020
ISA statement concerning attacks at Indian universities, in support of Global Academics' petition January 2020
ISA endorses the letter from the Middle East Studies Association of North America December 2019
ISA Statement about the Human Rights situation in Chile December 2019
ISA statement concerning police brutality in Hong Kong, in support of Global Academics´ petition December, 2019
ISA in support of education in humanities in Bulgaria August 2019
ISA endorses statement regarding Professor Fariba Adelkhah´s arrest issued by SciencePo, Paris, France August 2019
ISA endorses Brazilian Society of Sociology press release regarding the teaching of philosophy and social sciences in Brazilian federal universities April 2019
ISA endorses statement of the Philippine Sociological Society on the Duterte regime's threats to academic freedom October 2018
ISA endorses Brazilian Society of Sociology message in defence of academic freedom of thought October 2018
ISA endorses the statement from the Brazilian Society of Sociology about the murder of sociologist Marielle Franco April 2018
ISA endorses the call from Sociological Association of Turkey about the dismissals of Faculty from Turkish Universities March 2017
ISA statement about US President Donald Trump’s recent Executive Orders February 2017
ISA endorses the statement by Indian sociologists November 2016
ISA signs petition in support of Russian pollster Levada October 2016
ISA statement in solidarity with Homa Hoodfar June 2016
ISA statement concerning academic freedom and violence in India March 2016
ISA statement concerning the murder of Giulio Regeni February 2016
ISA statement on academic freedom in Turkey February 2016