Foundation Mattei Dogan Prize

The International Sociological Association awarded the Foundation Mattei Dogan Prize in Sociology to a sociologist in recognition of his or her lifetime accomplishments, a scholar of very high standing in the profession and of outstanding international reputation.

The Prize was awarded every four years at the ISA World Congress of Sociology where the Laureate delivered the Dogan Prize Lecture.  The first laureate was Neil Smelser (2002), the second was Alain Touraine (2006) and the third laureate, Jeffrey Alexander (2010). The Prize was then discontinued.