Research Committees

RC49 Sociology of Mental Health and Illness

Established in 1959; reinstated in 1994


RC49 provides a structure for scholarly disquisition and research collaboration at the international level; does not endorse a particular definition of mental health and illness, rather, the term is meant to be inclusive, ranging from serious psychiatric disorders to subjective feelings of well-being.

Board 2023 - 2027

President Jeremy DIXON, University of Bath, United Kingdom,
Vice-President Lynn TANG, Royal Holloway University of London, United Kingdom
Secretary Felipe SZABZON, University of Copenhagen, Denmark,
Treasurer Kevin STONE, University of Warwick, United Kingdom,
Online Communication Manager Felipe SZABZON, University of Copenhagen, Denmark,
Board Members Takashi ASAKURA, Tokyo Gakugei University, Japan
Jorge CHUAQUI, Universidad de Valparaiso, Chile
Kjeld HOGSBRO, Aalborg University, Denmark
Reinhold KILIAN, Ulm University, Germany
Silvia KRUMM, Ulm University, Germany
Bronwen LICHTENSTEIN, The University of Alabama, USA
James G. LINN, Optimal Solutions in Healthcare and International Development, USA


2023 January July
2022 January July
2021 January July
2020 January
2019 January
2017 spring
2016 winter
2015 May
2014 June
2013 July
2012 July
2011 July
2009 July
2007 June


Regular category A membership dues for a 4-year period is USD 40
Category B & C and students: USD 10
Life membership (after 70): USD 20

To become a member, submit a membership application from your user account: