Research Committees

Award for Career Achievements in the Social Science Disaster Area

Established in 1995. Last edition: 2018.

The Charles E. Fritz Award for Career Achievements in the Social Science is given for significant and numerous contributions to the disaster area such as the conducting of research, publications, policy development as well as providing of major input into the professional developments of the field. The intent of the RC39 is to recognize major and notable career achievements over a lifetime.

It is given every four years at the ISA World Congress of Sociology.

Recipients: Charles E. Fritz (1995), Enrico L. Quarantelli (1996), Burke Stannard (1998), T. Joseph Scanlon (2002), Russell R. Dynes (2006), William “Bill” A. Anderson (2010), Kathleen Tierney (2014), Shigeo Tatsuki (2018).

We use own or third-party cookies to improve your user experience. If you allow the installation of cookies or continue to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies..

Read more