Research Committees

RC23 Sociology of Science and Technology

Established in 1966


To secure and develop personal and collegial contacts between sociologists of science throughout the world; to encourage the international dissemination and exchange of information, developments and activities in the field of sociology of science; to facilitate and promote international meetings and research; to help actively individuals and organisations in countries not represented to use the Committee and its facilities.

To know more about the history of RC23, go to Bulletin 29 (1982), pp. 8-9.


Board 2023 - 2027

President Leandro RAIZER, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (UFRGS), Brazil,
Vice-President Junmin WANG, University of Memphis, USA
Secretary Renan GONCALVES LEONEL DA SILVA, ETH Zürich, Switzerland,
Board Members Alice ABREU, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Nadia ASHEULOVA, Russian Academy of Science, Russia (past President)
Nuno BOAVIDA, NOVA University of Lisbon, Portugal
Madhav GOVIND, Jawaharlal Nehru University, India
Paolo PARRA SAIANI, University of Genoa, Italy
Thomas G. SAFFORD, University of New Hampshire, USA
Award Committee Members Alice ABREU, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Gary BOWDEN, University of New Brunswick, Canada
Jaime JIMENEZ GUZMAN, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico (Chair)
Ralph MATTHEWS, University of British Columbia, Canada
Antonio Brandao MONIZ, NOVA University Lisbon, Portugal

Program Coordinators for V ISA Forum of Sociology 2025 are:
Junmin WANG,
Leandro RAIZER,



Available in RC23 website.


Dues: $20 for a 4-year period.
To become a member, submit a membership application from your user account: