Research Committees

RC37 Sociology of Arts

Established in 1979


To encourage research of high quality on the arts and culture more generally, within and between countries. To fulfill this purpose the Committee engages in the following activities:

  • it organizes sessions of the Sociology of the Arts at the meetings of the ISA
  • it sponsors international seminars on topics of theoretical, methodological or substantive importance in this field
  • it arranges for publication on matters related to research
  • develops an international roster of sociologists of the arts and culture, and organizations involved in similar pursuit
  • it fosters cross- national sociological research through the international membership in the research committee meetings, newsletter and other correspondence
  • it seeks to keep its members informed of RC37 activities
  • it engages in additional activities to disseminate its activities and encourage intellectual networks in and among many countries.

To know more about the history of RC37, go to Bulletin 31 (1983), p. 28.

Board 2018 - 2022. Extended 2023

President Ilaria RICCIONI, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy,
Secretary Ana Lucia DE FREITAS TEIXEIRA, Federal University of Sao Paulo, Brazil,
Treasurer Marisol FACUSE, Universidad de Chile, Chile,
Newsletter Editors Laia FALCON, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain,
Nina Tessa ZAHNER, Kunstakademie Dusseldorf, Germany,
Presidents Ex-officio Paulo MENEZES, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil (2014-2018)
Eduardo DE LA FUENTE, Australia (2012-2014)
Board Members Mariana Eva CERVINO, Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina  
Malfrid Irene HAGEN, Buskerud University College, Norway  
Jeffrey HALLEY, University of Texas at San Antonio, USA  
Volker KIRCHBERG, Leuphana University, Germany
Chia-Ling LAI, National Taiwan Normal University, Taiwan
Wenceslas LIZE, Université de Poitiers, France 
Paul LOPES, Colgate University, USA   
Jan MARONTATE, Simon Fraser University, Canada
Dirk MICHEL-SCHERTGES, Aarhus University, Denmark  
Arturo RODRIGUEZ MORATO, Universidad de Barcelona, Spain
Matias Ignacio ZARLENGA, Universidad Nacional de Tres de Febrero, Argentina
Vera ZOLBERG, New School for Social Research, USA (In Memoriam)

Program Coordinator for XX ISA World Congress 2023 is:


  January February March June September December
2023     PDF      
2022 PDF          
2021   PDF        
2020   PDF        
2019   PDF PDF PDF    
2018       PDF    
2017           PDF
2016     PDF PDF    
2015         PDF  
2014       PDF   PDF


Dues for a 4-year period:

  • Category A economies: USD 40
  • Category B economies: USD 20
  • Category C economies: USD 10
  • Student: USD 10

Table of economies by category.

To become a member, submit a membership application from your user account: