Working Groups

WG06 Institutional Ethnography

Thematic Group 06 established in 2011. Upgraded to Working Group 06 in 2020.


To develop international contacts among sociologists and social activists interested in institutional ethnography as a mode of inquiry; to encourage the worldwide exchange of research findings, methodological advances and theoretical developments relevant to institutional ethnography; to promote international meetings and research collaboration by scholars and social activists using institutional ethnography.

Board 2021 - 2024

President Liza MCCOY, University of Calgary, Canada,
Co-President Frank T. Y. WANG, Chengchi University, Taiwan, 
Vice-President Rebecca LUND, University of Oslo, Norway,
Secretary-Treasurer Debra TALBOT, University of Sydney, Australia,
Board Members

LaNysha ADAMS, Edlinguist® Solutions LLC, USA
Kjeld HOGSBRO, Aalborg University, Denmark
Adriana SUAREZ-DELUCCHI, Bristol University, United Kingdom  
Morena TARTARI, University of Antwerp, Belgium

Program Coordinators for XX ISA World Congress 2023 are:


2021 Jun.
2020 March  Dec.
2019 Jun.
2018 Jun. Dec.
2017 Dec.
2016 Nov.
2014 Jun.
2013 Feb. Aug. Dec.
2012 Jun.
2011 Nov.


Dues for a 4-year period:

  • Category A: USD 40 
  • Category B: USD 20 
  • Category C and students: USD 10

Table of countries per category

To become a member, submit a membership application from your user account: